Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Fitting TomTom mount to replace garmin  (Read 2752 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline K33LWE

  • XR Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: s1000xr Sport SE
  • Town: Sheffield
Fitting TomTom mount to replace garmin
« on: April 15, 2017, 09:43:38 PM »
I'm wanting to fit my tomtom rider 410 as don't want the garmin. Has anyone swooped these over and if so how do you do it also to wire it up? Any help would be great cheers

Offline Elvisto

  • XR Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
  • Country: england
  • Bike: S1000XR SE
  • Town: Audley, S-o-T
Re: Fitting TomTom mount to replace garmin
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2017, 07:31:43 AM »
I've just fitted a tom tom to my Africa Twin, I went straight to the battery, ok, you have to remember to turn it off, but at least when you call for petrol etc it stays live, works for me,
Adventure before dementia

Offline K33LWE

  • XR Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: s1000xr Sport SE
  • Town: Sheffield
Re: Fitting TomTom mount to replace garmin
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2017, 08:00:14 AM »
Yeh I looked at taking it to battery but wanted to try and wire to something that when bikes running it charges etc

Offline Ishawy

  • XR Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: 00
  • Bike: S1000xr
  • Town: Preston
Re: Fitting TomTom mount to replace garmin
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2017, 11:09:36 AM »
I've got the Tomtom410 fitted my xr I will post some pictures at the end. There are a few different options you have but I will go through mine. Remove the full mounting bracket from your bike and follow the cables down towards the radiator where you will find the plugs for the sat nav and the scroller on the left side of the bike. Remove it all it just unplugs. Then get a new plug off eBay with a pos and neg feed which plugs straight into the plug you've just removed. I then fitted a s w motec tom tom sat mount again from eBay job done, join your sat nav loom to the pos and neg on the new plug and all done even works with the ignition when turn on and turns off when bike is switched off ✅
« Last Edit: April 16, 2017, 11:13:00 AM by Ishawy »

Offline K33LWE

  • XR Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: s1000xr Sport SE
  • Town: Sheffield
Re: Fitting TomTom mount to replace garmin
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2017, 11:56:40 AM »
That's the same mount I've ordered this morning. Do you have a picture or link to the plugs to connect the tomtom to. That would save me cutting the DIN wire.

Offline Ishawy

  • XR Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: 00
  • Bike: S1000xr
  • Town: Preston
Re: Fitting TomTom mount to replace garmin
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2017, 04:27:58 PM »

Offline K33LWE

  • XR Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: s1000xr Sport SE
  • Town: Sheffield
Re: Fitting TomTom mount to replace garmin
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2017, 05:14:26 PM »
Is that the one that goes to the battery? I do you have picture of one that goes to the power where you unplug the garmin mount?

Offline Ishawy

  • XR Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: 00
  • Bike: S1000xr
  • Town: Preston
Re: Fitting TomTom mount to replace garmin
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2017, 05:30:09 PM »
Not sure 🤔 as I'm relaying what was told to me by the guy who fitted it for me sorry. But mine defo don't go to the battery as it is ignition fed. There was a guy selling them on eBay but I can't find him at the moment, but I will keep looking 👍

Offline Ishawy

  • XR Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: 00
  • Bike: S1000xr
  • Town: Preston

Offline Ishawy

  • XR Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: 00
  • Bike: S1000xr
  • Town: Preston