Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: How do you ride yours?  (Read 5614 times)

Offline zunkii

• XR Junior
  • Bike: XR1000 SE Sport
  • Town: Edgware
How do you ride yours?
« on: September 08, 2017, 11:14:17 AM »
Guys

As I have said before, I am new to riding such a powerful machine, and my commute is through central london where I seldom have the opportunity to go above 30mph, am I better off doing this in second gear to Keep the revs up or 3rd /4th at 2500rpm?

Zunk

Offline Winger

• XR God
  • Town: Birmingham
Re: How do you ride yours?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2017, 11:41:57 AM »
Lot depends on which map.

Offline CobraKai

• XR Member
  • Bike: S1000XR
  • Town: CA
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2017, 05:21:44 PM »
I would say you don't want to go below 3000RPM regularly. This engine is designed to run at higher RPMs and thus the oil pressure, viscosity, and tolerances are designed to operate in that region. Surely you can dip below 3000 and it remains smooth but for the majority of your ride I would keep it above that. So 30mph correlates to like 3rd gear probably? 2nd gear is probably unnecessarily low of a gear.

Offline Mareng1

• XR Master
  • Town: Scotland
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2017, 06:36:30 PM »
Thought the oil-pressure (as delivered at the pump) was always in excess (from idle upwards) and was regulated to a steady-ish value?

But - I think it is good practice on a short-stroke 4-cyl to run 3,000rpm (ash) as a general minimum.

Offline Plexat

• XR Member
  • BMW since 1979
  • Town: Doesburg
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2017, 07:29:02 PM »
Always ride in a variety of revs. Some moments low revs and than shift down and use higher revs.
Just play with the throttle and have fun. This is what I got as advice from my dealer.  :001:
But you should use the bike also at higher speeds and revs outside London. Than you make the bike more happy.
And ... it will make you happy!

Offline Snatch

• XR Pro