Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: 6 day tour to Scotland  (Read 6191 times)

Offline Gaz3014

• XR Member
  • Bike: S1000XR Sport SE
  • Town: Northants
6 day tour to Scotland
« on: December 31, 2017, 04:44:02 PM »
Evening all

So, I’m planning a 6 day tour of Scotland with my wife and as I’ve never done anything like this before, I’m hoping for some advice.

My schedule is initially looking like this:

1.  Northants to Carlisle; 244 miles so thought might be good point to stop for night.
2.  Carlisle to Glencoe; 184 miles ish.
3.  Glencoe to Portree (Skye). Tour island.
4.  Portree to Carnoustie 228 miles ish
5.  Carnoustie to Keswick 212 miles but scenic route
6.  Keswick to Northants 242 miles

I want to get as much non- motorway scenic routes as possible once over the boarder and also on way back/ Northumberland area.
I guess I’m wondering is the mileage each day ok, or too much?
Would it be worth spending more than 1 day in one place and get different riding routes with scenery in?

Oh, and it will be early April so expecting some crap weather lol.

Any pointers welcome folks.......TIA.  :440:
CARPE DIEM

Offline LAMBO281

• XR Pro
  • Live the dream and ride 247
  • Bike: S1000XR
  • Town: Berkshire UK
Re: 6 day tour to Scotland
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2017, 05:03:05 PM »
Sounds big miles for twisty roads, how is the Mrs on the bike? Lots of pit stops for pics etc so will be long days I imagine, will be a good tour, personally I’d smash out the motorway to get north to the good stuff so longer to play

Online philbuck

• XR Pro
  • Town: Cheshire
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2017, 05:37:22 PM »