Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Greetings from SoCal  (Read 3040 times)

Offline marcdanz

• XR Junior
  • Bike: '16 S1000XR SE
  • Town: Los Angeles, CA
Greetings from SoCal
« on: January 27, 2018, 11:22:18 PM »
Hi! I'm awaiting the arrival of a new-to-me '16 XR from Seattle next week (assuming I'm in town to get it...). Really excited to get the bike - a little anxious too. I rode one of the first ones here in SoCal and the bars shook like a Sportster.

I have two friends with XR's who swear the issue is resolved - but I worry!

The bike will replace a Tiger 1050 (and possible a Street Triple R) that I've been riding for a few years.

I commute when I work in LA, I tour with my wife (she rides a Ninja 650ABS), and do weekend sporty rides with my friends. Hoping I have a do-it-all bike.

My first BMW, so forgive me in advance for all the self-effacing "New BMW Owner" jokes.

Marc

Offline otrp

• XR Master
Re: Greetings from SoCal
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2018, 01:10:25 AM »
Hello Marc and welcome to the forum. The vibes disappear with milage, at least they did with mine.  I have no heavier bar end weights and I have not done the 2017 bar bushing retro fit. My 16 was very viby when new, but it smoothed out nicely starting around 1200 miles or so and got better with more miles. Have no fear.  You will love the bike.    :002:

Offline Bree

• XR God
  • Bike: S1000XR
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2018, 09:28:55 AM »
  :400: Hi And enjoy the bike, if you were looking for an excellent all-rounder then you picked the right machine. I personally have never suffered with vibes ( they are there but no worse than other bikes I've owned ) . Enjoy............... :305: :305: :305: :305:
Everything  Will Be Alright In The End, If Not Then Its Not The End.

Offline mike k

• XR Pro
  • Bike: s1000xr
  • Town: Spokane, WA.
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2018, 09:44:00 AM »
Marccdanz - Welcome to the forum.