Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Navigator VI map updates  (Read 1664 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lesik

  • XR Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: s1000xr
  • Town: york
Navigator VI map updates
« on: March 14, 2018, 03:36:02 PM »
I am in general very pleased with Navigator VI. Lovely display, great to be able to use control wheel on bars.
I am not pleased with the fact that if refuses to connect to my computer (Windows 10 Dell XPS15 laptop). When I plug it in it simply powers up ie does not connect.

Interestingly it does connect if I plug it in to my tablet (a surface 3 windows 10) and I was able to update the maps. I wondered if anyone else has experienced this problem or similar problems.

I am concerned as I want to get rid of the tablet .

The response from Garmin support was very disappointing as they wanted to blame my computer (it is fine on all other devices).

Offline Gazk

  • XR Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 280
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: S1000xr SE Sport
  • Town: Leicester
Re: Navigator VI map updates
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2018, 05:01:41 PM »
Hi
the only time I've had that sort of issue is when the cable is faulty or the USB ports are secured.

Did the VI SatNav install on your PC?
Drivers and so on.

Can you see the VI SatNav in Device Manager?

When you plug it in do you see the USB port activate in Device Manager, in Universal serial Buss controllers, you should see the VI SatNav pop in, if so is it Disabled?
If it's not Disabled Right Click on the USB port that the VI SatNav is in and go to Properties and check out that the drivers are installed.

Sorry if you've done all this, not trying to teach you to suck eggs.
After over thirty years behind the bars, I’ve still not done it all or seen it all.

https://www.youtube.com/user/emmanuelgoldstein1

Offline Forum Admin

  • XR Administrator
  • XR Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 98
  • Country: gb
Re: Navigator VI map updates
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2018, 05:07:58 PM »
I am not pleased with the fact that if refuses to connect to my computer

I would suggest it's more likely the other way round.

+ 1 with what Gazk said above, could be a driver issue with the XPS.

Offline JohnnyBeGood

  • XR Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Country: nl
  • Bike: S1000XR
Re: Navigator VI map updates
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2018, 05:36:00 PM »
Another advice is:

Search for help on Garmin fora, not neccessarily the Garmin company forum ofcourse.
I know a few Dutch and German ones.

Another thing to mention is that sometimes you really need to be patient, connecting can sometimes take more than a few minutes.
Good luck.

Offline lesik

  • XR Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: s1000xr
  • Town: york
Re: Navigator VI map updates
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2018, 06:02:52 PM »
Many thanks for replies.

I had a further chat with Garmin support. The message was that the satnav does not support USB 3.1 and therefore they cannot help me further. Doesn't explain why it works fine on my tablet with basically identical device drivers. At least I can use the tablet for the moment.

 

Offline Waynexr1000

  • XR Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 484
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: S1000XR Sport SE
  • Town: Brierley Hill
Re: Navigator VI map updates
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2018, 10:09:04 PM »
I have had two nav 6 s first one was perfect I never updated
The new free one I had with my last gs is crap since I updated it
My mate and I swopped bikes on the same day and left the dealers at the same time
He also had a new 6 he has never updated his and whenever we go overseas his works fine and match’s all my other mates tom tom routes
Mine which I have regularly updated is rubbish every one else sets off on route they all turn left mine says turn right all my mates call mine a novelty sat nav out of a lucky bag I have all the same settings as my mate same mileage to destination etc it just takes me on a merry dance all the time gets me lost looses the road on the display
If I ever bought another I would never update it

Online Mareng1

  • XR Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 701
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: S1000XR
  • Town: Scotland
Re: Navigator VI map updates
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2018, 04:33:11 AM »
Wayne -  Are you sure you have the same preferences set (as your mates) in the unit and on Basecamp (if you used basecamp to create the route).?

Preferences such as:
Avoidances
Mode of transport (bike/car)
Average speed for road type. (Makes a big diff)
Etc

(The car/bike one can make a difference if bike preferences are same as his, but you have inadvertently switched yours to Car)

They will all make a difference to the route that the unit takes. 

(alternatively - your mates just dont like you.. :164:)

Plug your Nav into your PC and make a note of all the prefs - then compare to your mates’

HTH
« Last Edit: March 15, 2018, 04:35:00 AM by Mareng1 »

Offline Waynexr1000

  • XR Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 484
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: S1000XR Sport SE
  • Town: Brierley Hill
Re: Navigator VI map updates
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2018, 11:23:24 AM »
I spend ages before we set off going through making sure all avoidances and routes are the same we even enter our routes by co ordinates to avoid going into town centres and force nav to pick roads we like the look of on google maps
We do 100 yards mine say left his says right
Never seen any options for car on my nav it’s adedicated bike one aint it

Online Mareng1

  • XR Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 701
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: S1000XR
  • Town: Scotland
Re: Navigator VI map updates
« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2018, 12:08:42 PM »
In basecamp:

Click on (top line)

"Basecamp"

in dropdown menu, click

"Preferences"

In preferences -

Work through all the items I mentioned in previous post.  Those are the settings that will have transferred to your NAV V last update.
(note you have multiple choices of transport, including walking and car)

Offline Waynexr1000

  • XR Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 484
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: S1000XR Sport SE
  • Town: Brierley Hill
Re: Navigator VI map updates
« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2018, 02:35:44 PM »
Do u know I think mines a v and I don’t have base camp  :024: