Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Chain cleaning  (Read 17342 times)

Offline Redrick

• XR Pro
  • Bike: S 1000 XR SE
  • Town: The death Star
Chain cleaning
« on: August 30, 2015, 03:01:41 PM »
I find it strangely therapeutic !

You tell me how fast I was going Officer !

Offline RichS1000XR

• XR Master
  • Bike: S1000XR Sport SE
  • Town: Surrey
Re: Chain cleaning
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2015, 04:04:36 PM »
Good grief! Talk us through it. What products/ techniques? As you know, I'm used to shaft driven bikes, so I'm still learning! :001:

Offline Redrick

• XR Pro
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2015, 04:11:35 PM »
*Originally Posted by RichS1000XR [+]
Good grief! Talk us through it. What products/ techniques? As you know, I'm used to shaft driven bikes, so I'm still learning! :001:

Firstly a trip to B&Q is needed as they were the only place i could find selling paraffin and whilst i was there i bought a spray bottle for a quid and a half inch paintbrush

Spray parafin onto the chain direct or the brush and work it in to the links and see the sh#t come off

once happy that all the crap is nicely parafined and loose then an old rag in hand and round the chain and spin the wheel until satisfied that chain is sparkling clean then lube up

all in all 10 minutes and as i said therapeutic but i like cleaning shoes too

Offline RichS1000XR

• XR Master
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2015, 05:07:57 PM »
Cool. Guess what I'm doing tomorrow! :008:

Offline Redrick

• XR Pro
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2015, 05:14:42 PM »
*Originally Posted by RichS1000XR [+]
Cool. Guess what I'm doing tomorrow! :008:

Don't forget to put a towel down under the chain or do it on the neighbours drive !

Offline PlanktonPete

• XR Member
  • Town: Gloucestershire
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2015, 05:37:01 PM »
 :435:
*Originally Posted by Redrick [+]