Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Questions 😁  (Read 1572 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ch2004

  • XR Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: scotland
  • Bike: Red SE
  • Town: Highland
Re: Questions
« Reply #20 on: August 12, 2020, 12:31:10 PM »
*Originally Posted by runnerhiker [+]
Yeah, they might be a difference in the model years.  My owners manual states Dynamic ESA is the default mode for Dynamic riding mode.  And Road ESA is the default mode for Road riding mode.  And when I change riding mode from Road to Dynamic, the ESA also changes from Road to Dynamic.  And additionally, I can manually change the ESA if I want to so I can have Dynamic ESA with Road riding mode, or vice versa - but I have to manually change the ESA to get the unmatched combination.
I agree with runnerhike on this.
I only tested on the different suspension settings to see if it made a difference for a full comparison.

Offline smithy

  • XR God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1554
  • Country: au
  • Bike: 2017 S1000XR
  • Town: Brisvegas.
Re: Questions 😁
« Reply #21 on: August 12, 2020, 08:30:01 PM »
As an experiment, put the bike in "Road" mode for both suspension and riding modes. Then plonk it in Dynamic riding mode and see what the suspension mode has done..?? Mine stays in Road suspension mode until I actually change it myself.

Smithy.
When I die, I want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandfather....not screaming like the passengers in his car..!

Offline Rosberg

  • XR Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: se
  • Town: Genarp
Re: Questions 😁
« Reply #22 on: August 13, 2020, 09:44:58 AM »
Hi just did as smithy suggested.
Road mode in suspension and riding mode. Switched to dynamic riding mode and bike automatically switched suspension to dynamic.
I have video evidence :-)

« Last Edit: August 13, 2020, 09:55:09 AM by Rosberg »

Offline SimonUK

  • XR Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 621
  • Country: us
  • Bike: S1000XR,S1000R
  • Town: Upstate, SC
Re: Questions 😁
« Reply #23 on: August 13, 2020, 11:57:38 AM »
What year?? I believe the ECU changed in 2018

Offline Rosberg

  • XR Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: se
  • Town: Genarp
Re: Questions 😁
« Reply #24 on: August 13, 2020, 11:59:12 AM »
It´s a 2019

Offline SimonUK

  • XR Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 621
  • Country: us
  • Bike: S1000XR,S1000R
  • Town: Upstate, SC
Re: Questions 😁
« Reply #25 on: August 13, 2020, 12:33:03 PM »
so it would seem that the consensus is that 15-17 bikes do not do this, but 18-19 do! Everyone is right!  :047:

Have no idea on the new 2020 model.

Online Watshot

  • XR Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: XR Sp SE
Re: Questions 😁
« Reply #26 on: August 13, 2020, 01:34:54 PM »
Mine is a 2015 model and it does it too. So no ecu change in that respect.

Offline Winger

  • XR God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2654
  • Country: gb
  • Town: Birmingham
Re: Questions 😁
« Reply #27 on: August 13, 2020, 01:52:20 PM »
*Originally Posted by SimonUK [+]
so it would seem that the consensus is that 15-17 bikes do not do this, but 18-19 do! Everyone is right!  :047:

Have no idea on the new 2020 model.

Us poor non ESA owners do not suffer such complications  :001:

Offline Becksy

  • XR Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 252
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: S1000XR (2016)
  • Town: Warwickshire
Re: Questions 😁
« Reply #28 on: August 13, 2020, 02:30:33 PM »
*Originally Posted by runnerhiker [+]
What you call "engine mode" is what BMW call Ride Mode.
What you call "suspension" is what BMW calls ESA.

On my bike, when I change "engine mode", it also changes the "suspension" mode.  That's what my bike does.

I'm with runner hike on this one and mine is a 2016 model.

Offline seismic_gunner

  • XR Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: england
  • Bike: 2016 S1000XR SE
  • Town: Scarborough
Re: Questions 😁
« Reply #29 on: August 13, 2020, 04:14:29 PM »
Thanks guys,  :062:.... mine is the same as Smithy's it's a 16 plate SE with the coding plug installed, and when you set the ESA to Road two up, but then select Dynamic in rider modes, the ESA stays as it was, you have to physically change the setting  :001: