Author Potential new XR owner  (Read 4403 times)

• Offline kn58   gb

• XR Junior  ‐    14
    • Topic Author

Offline kn58

• XR Junior
    • Topic Author
    • Town: Reading
    Potential new XR owner
    on: November 23, 2020, 03:54:14 pm
    November 23, 2020, 03:54:14 pm
    Hi All,

I am a newbie here and considering buying an XR soon and am looking for some advice from the owners here.
    I currently own a s1000r and want something a little comfortable. I test rode the GS and couldnt stand the tractorish sound and the dynamics of the bike (loved the plush suspension though) and then test rode an XR, which i immediately felt comfortable with. I was surprised how much flickable it was even more than my 2015 R.
    Looks like XR is the one that i will go for. I am looking at different options to buy but cant make up my mind and cant really decide between a PCP and a HP. I have been quoted £17900 for the TE version with a 6.9 % apr for both HP and PCp. Is this a good offer? I cant really tell as dont have much experience of buying new.  I want to get the cheapest overall option, what do normally people go for if they plan to keep the bike for 3 to 4 years.
    I love the Akrapovich on my R which pops and bangs on the overruns etc and i am in love with that, does the XR akra sound the same? The XR that I test rode had the standard exhaust which sounded a bit boring and neutered so I am really hoping that the sports silencer improves that.
    Also what is the cheapest way to buy the garmin Nav, through the dealer or somewhere else?
    Thanks in advance.

• Offline jakebake   gb

• XR Pro  ‐    135

Offline jakebake

• XR Pro
    • Bike: s1000xr
    • Town: warwick
    Re: Potential new XR owner
    Reply #1 on: November 23, 2020, 05:49:14 pm
    November 23, 2020, 05:49:14 pm
    Have you tried the gen 1 XR ?

In my opinion, whilst the gen 2 is  undoubtedly a  great bike,  the gen 1  is more  fun to ride  :001:

• Offline kn58   gb

• XR Junior  ‐    14