Author Navigator vi  (Read 1005 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline SteveH   gb

    • XR Member  ‐    15
    • **
    • Topic Author

    Offline SteveH

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 15
    • Bike: S1000xr
    • Town: Fleet
    • Country: gb
    Navigator vi
    on: May 19, 2021, 10:24:13 pm
    May 19, 2021, 10:24:13 pm
    Hi all,

    Is it just me or is the Navigator vi a piece of crap, I brought mine brand new from BMW in Alton 4 months ago I have been unable to do any updates at all, Garmon sold me 3x new cables which are crap & don't work.
    My laptop is new & update with its own updates the Navigator will not connect at all.
    Today I try and use the thing on ride & it now says no maps...what a complete waste of my money....
    Last Edit: May 19, 2021, 10:25:07 pm by SteveH

  • Online wessie   gb

    • XR Master  ‐    637
    • ****
      #1

    Online wessie

    • XR Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 637
    • Bike: 2016 XR SE Sport
    • Town: Cheltenham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Navigator vi
    Reply #1 on: May 19, 2021, 10:32:55 pm
    May 19, 2021, 10:32:55 pm
    if the device is defective, Alton are responsible for putting things right as they are the retailer

    just one query, do you have Garmin Express installed to your computer? Download from here https://www.garmin.com/en-GB/software/express/windows/ - this is needed in your Windows PC or Mac.

  • Offline advr6   ca

    • XR Pro  ‐    107
    • ***
      #2

    Offline advr6

    • XR Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 107
    • Bike: S1000XR
    • Town: Burlington
    • Country: ca
    Re: Navigator vi
    Reply #2 on: May 20, 2021, 12:47:10 am
    May 20, 2021, 12:47:10 am
    I've updated my Nav 6 using Garmin Express multiple times with no issues...

  • Offline scotti   gb

    • XR Pro  ‐    121
    • ***
      #3

    Offline scotti

    • XR Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 121
    • Bike: S1000XR TE 2020
    • Town: Teesside
    • Country: gb
    Re: Navigator vi
    Reply #3 on: May 20, 2021, 06:45:48 am
    May 20, 2021, 06:45:48 am
    Me too. No problem.
    Regards
    Scotti

  • Offline SteveH   gb

    • XR Member  ‐    15
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #4

    Offline SteveH

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 15
    • Bike: S1000xr
    • Town: Fleet
    • Country: gb
    Re: Navigator vi
    Reply #4 on: May 20, 2021, 08:58:11 am
    May 20, 2021, 08:58:11 am
    Thanks for your replies, I'm pleased that some of you have no issues.

    Website, thanks, yes it's Windows 10 Garmin Express is installed. I've read it's to with an issue with the USB 3.0 on Windows 10, also change the device from mtp to solid state device which I've done. Today I'm trying again with a USB 2.0.

    It shouldn't be like this

  • Offline advr6   ca

    • XR Pro  ‐    107
    • ***
      #5

    Offline advr6

    • XR Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 107
    • Bike: S1000XR
    • Town: Burlington
    • Country: ca
    Re: Navigator vi
    Reply #5 on: May 20, 2021, 12:51:55 pm
    May 20, 2021, 12:51:55 pm
    I'm using a computer with a USB 2 connection so can confirm that works.  I also have an external USB 3 hub attached to the same computer and it doesn't seem to work which seems to confirm your theory.

     



    dysfunctional