Author Test ride Gen 2  (Read 2024 times)

• Offline kevmv   gb

• XR Junior  ‐    12
    • Topic Author

Offline kevmv

• XR Junior
    • Topic Author
    Test ride Gen 2
    on: August 21, 2021, 04:14:02 pm
    August 21, 2021, 04:14:02 pm
    Hi newbie here,

At present moment I'm working away from home but intend to get a test ride of a Gen 2 when I get home.
    Presently I have a mv agusta f3, so by looking around at YouTube videos and reading some reviews I've came to the conclusion that the Gen 2 looks to be the bike for me.
    It will be a big change in motorcycle for me, so during the test ride I don't think my brain will be concentrating fully on the bike, rather just trying to stay alive 🙈 with the difference in power and weight.
    Has anyone any good tips on what to look for while riding the bike for the first time, something that you wished that you had found out before you made the purchase.

Kev.

• Offline BobT   fr

• XR Pro  ‐    198

Offline BobT

• XR Pro
    • Bike: S1000XR, R1250RS
    • Town: Perigueux
    Re: Test ride Gen 2
    Reply #1 on: August 21, 2021, 06:43:59 pm
    August 21, 2021, 06:43:59 pm
    My girlfriend just looked at one at the dealer and ordered it there and then with all the extras. She never rode one as she likes the colour and riding it won't change that.

• Offline jakebake   gb

• XR Pro  ‐    135

Offline jakebake

• XR Pro
    • Bike: s1000xr
    • Town: warwick
    Reply #2 on: August 21, 2021, 06:46:32 pm
    August 21, 2021, 06:46:32 pm
    Above anything else, do 2 test rides and don’t judge it on the 1st one.

Ask the sales guy to run through the electronics menu and make sure none of the settings are set to restrict the bike ie  anti-wheelie, traction control , engine breaking etc. etc, set all of them to the least intrusive ( don’t worry the bike will be perfectly controllable………ish !