Author GS911 or Motoscan  (Read 2348 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Mark91   hu

    • XR Member  ‐    25
    • **
    • Topic Author

    Offline Mark91

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 25
    • Bike: 2016 BMW S1000XR
    • Town: Basel
    • Country: hu
    GS911 or Motoscan
    on: February 26, 2022, 11:43:38 pm
    February 26, 2022, 11:43:38 pm
    Dear All,

    I am writing to here, because I would like to purchase one of the diag. devices. Which one is more recommended?
    In case of GS911 the only difference between the limited and the professional version; the limited version has the 10 VIN limit, or the software has also a reduced knowledge?
    Later if I want can I upgrade the limited version to professional one?

    Thanks for your help.  :152:

  • Online Diavel   la

    • XR Pro  ‐    173
    • ***
      #1

    Online Diavel

    • XR Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 173
    • Bike: S1000XR
    • Town: Vientiane
    • Country: la
    Re: GS911 or Motoscan
    Reply #1 on: February 27, 2022, 02:20:48 am
    February 27, 2022, 02:20:48 am
    There is quite a difference in price between the 2 and they have both worked well for me. Motoscan is  not expensive and was the reason why I ended up buying both 😁. See below this may help your question on the limit of 10 VINs on the GS-911.(From the Hex website)

    https://www.hexcode.co.za/products/gs-911/support/faq/how-do-i-upgrade-to-the-professional-version

    As the Enthusiast version makes provision for full Service and Maintenance functionality on up to 10 motorcycles (see the VINlimit page), we foresee very few enthusiasts having the need to upgrade to the professional version. However, if you would like to do so, the upgrade pricing is shown in the table below:

    Upgrade price for
    GS-911usb Gen 1 & GS-911blu

    US$ 220   Online upgrades are done by following prompts from the About screen within your GS-911 PC application!*
    Upgrade price for GS-911wifi   US$ 350   Online upgrades are done by following prompts from the About screen within your GS-911 PC application!*

  • Offline Mark91   hu

    • XR Member  ‐    25
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline Mark91

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 25
    • Bike: 2016 BMW S1000XR
    • Town: Basel
    • Country: hu
    Re: GS911 or Motoscan
    Reply #2 on: February 27, 2022, 05:27:43 pm
    February 27, 2022, 05:27:43 pm
    *Originally Posted by Diavel [+]
    There is quite a difference in price between the 2 and they have both worked well for me. Motoscan is  not expensive and was the reason why I ended up buying both 😁. See below this may help your question on the limit of 10 VINs on the GS-911.(From the Hex website)

    https://www.hexcode.co.za/products/gs-911/support/faq/how-do-i-upgrade-to-the-professional-version

    As the Enthusiast version makes provision for full Service and Maintenance functionality on up to 10 motorcycles (see the VINlimit page), we foresee very few enthusiasts having the need to upgrade to the professional version. However, if you would like to do so, the upgrade pricing is shown in the table below:

    Upgrade price for
    GS-911usb Gen 1 & GS-911blu

    US$ 220   Online upgrades are done by following prompts from the About screen within your GS-911 PC application!*
    Upgrade price for GS-911wifi   US$ 350   Online upgrades are done by following prompts from the About screen within your GS-911 PC application!*


    Thank you very much for your help. I think I will choose the GS911, because it looks more sympathic and more professional.  :062:
    Do you experienced anything what you could solved only with the Motoscan?

  • Offline smithy   au

    • XR God  ‐    2206
    • *****
      #3

    Offline smithy

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 2206
    • Bike: 2017 S1000XR
    • Town: Brisvegas.
    • Country: au
    Re: GS911 or Motoscan
    Reply #3 on: February 27, 2022, 07:24:25 pm
    February 27, 2022, 07:24:25 pm
    *Originally Posted by Mark91 [+]
    Thank you very much for your help. I think I will choose the GS911, because it looks more sympathic and more professional.  :062:
    Do you experienced anything what you could solved only with the Motoscan?

    Anything Motoscan can do....the GS-911 can do...and more.

    Smithy.
    When I die, I want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandfather....not screaming like the passengers in his car..!

  • Online Antares   gb

    • XR God  ‐    1073
    • *****
      #4

    Online Antares

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 1073
    • Bike: 2015 XR Sport SE
    • Town: Staines/Kirklees
    • Country: gb
    Re: GS911 or Motoscan
    Reply #4 on: February 27, 2022, 07:27:40 pm
    February 27, 2022, 07:27:40 pm
    *Originally Posted by Mark91 [+]
    Thank you very much for your help. I think I will choose the GS911, because it looks more sympathic and more professional.  :062:
    Do you experienced anything what you could solved only with the Motoscan?

    I have motoscan and whilst I can't say anything for the GS-911 I just never needed it. Motoscan can do everything you could normally need, adaptations and all service functions as well as some diagnostic actuators (i.e. fan, injectors, throttle plates etc.) Total cost of investment was right about £110 (~$150). The biggest benefit I see it having over the GS-911 is it's portability. The GS-911 is a big unit in itself and it needs a laptop or desktop. For the motoscan all I need is a tiny OBD reader and my phone, so I always carry it with me, and actually came in handy once when a mate's XR threw a random check engine light, ended up being nothing serious, something about emissions systems, probably exhaust valve sensor having a fit. So in my mind it's just unnecessary to pay for a GS-911 even if it's the "better" tool as a professional, when the Motoscan does everything you'll need day to day and then actually do some things better than the GS-911.

  • Offline smithy   au

    • XR God  ‐    2206
    • *****
      #5

    Offline smithy

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 2206
    • Bike: 2017 S1000XR
    • Town: Brisvegas.
    • Country: au
    Re: GS911 or Motoscan
    Reply #5 on: February 27, 2022, 07:38:22 pm
    February 27, 2022, 07:38:22 pm
    *Originally Posted by Antares [+]
    I have motoscan and whilst I can't say anything for the GS-911 I just never needed it. Motoscan can do everything you could normally need, adaptations and all service functions as well as some diagnostic actuators (i.e. fan, injectors, throttle plates etc.) Total cost of investment was right about £110 (~$150). The biggest benefit I see it having over the GS-911 is it's portability. The GS-911 is a big unit in itself and it needs a laptop or desktop. For the motoscan all I need is a tiny OBD reader and my phone, so I always carry it with me, and actually came in handy once when a mate's XR threw a random check engine light, ended up being nothing serious, something about emissions systems, probably exhaust valve sensor having a fit. So in my mind it's just unnecessary to pay for a GS-911 even if it's the "better" tool as a professional, when the Motoscan does everything you'll need day to day and then actually do some things better than the GS-911.

    Agree...I have both and use Motoscan much more often....Only use the GS-911 when working/servicing the bike at home in the shed....Also, the GS-911 can be used remotely via WiFi to my phone as a hotspot but I find it a bit cumbersome, much prefer to use it on a laptop.

    Smithy.
    When I die, I want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandfather....not screaming like the passengers in his car..!

  • Offline Benhur   mt

    • XR Member  ‐    20
    • **
      #6

    Offline Benhur

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Posts: 20
    • Bike: S1000xr
    • Town: Birkirkara
    • Country: mt
    Re: GS911 or Motoscan
    Reply #6 on: February 27, 2022, 10:17:38 pm
    February 27, 2022, 10:17:38 pm
    Guys,

    does the GS911 wifi require an internet connection to work on a windows laptop or an Iphone. i am asking because my workshop is in a basement and there is no reception or internet (which makes for peaceful working on a bike :):):) no interruptions!!!)

    R


  • Offline smithy   au

    • XR God  ‐    2206
    • *****
      #7

    Offline smithy

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 2206
    • Bike: 2017 S1000XR
    • Town: Brisvegas.
    • Country: au
    Re: GS911 or Motoscan
    Reply #7 on: February 27, 2022, 10:33:44 pm
    February 27, 2022, 10:33:44 pm
    *Originally Posted by Benhur [+]
    Guys,

    does the GS911 wifi require an internet connection to work on a windows laptop or an Iphone. i am asking because my workshop is in a basement and there is no reception or internet (which makes for peaceful working on a bike :):):) no interruptions!!!)

    R

    Unfortunately, yes it does.

    Smithy.
    When I die, I want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandfather....not screaming like the passengers in his car..!

  • Offline Watshot   gb

    • XR Pro  ‐    160
    • ***
      #8

    Offline Watshot

    • XR Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 160
    • Bike: XR Sp SE
    • Country: gb
    Re: GS911 or Motoscan
    Reply #8 on: February 27, 2022, 11:33:25 pm
    February 27, 2022, 11:33:25 pm
    Another thing you might want to consider, is that the Motoscan is also portable between marques (with the appropriate app). Whereas the GS is BMW specific I believe, so if you choose to move on in a couple of years, it's either redundant or you're looking to sell on at a loss.

  • Offline Mark91   hu

    • XR Member  ‐    25
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #9

    Offline Mark91

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 25
    • Bike: 2016 BMW S1000XR
    • Town: Basel
    • Country: hu
    Re: GS911 or Motoscan
    Reply #9 on: February 28, 2022, 07:44:42 am
    February 28, 2022, 07:44:42 am
    Thank you very much for the answers. Somewhere I read the motoscan works only on android. Is it true?
    With the GS911 am I able to change units on the dashboard for example the temperature values etc... ? Can I do the throttle body sync with it? (if the synctester I have already)

    Thanks again for the helps, I really appreciate it.  :020: :020: :821: :821: :821:

     



    dysfunctional