Author Just read up on Motoscan stuff and.....  (Read 1543 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Ant   us

    • XR Pro  ‐    174
    • ***
    • Topic Author

    Offline Ant

    • XR Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 174
    • Bike: S1000XR
    • Country: us
    Just read up on Motoscan stuff and.....
    on: April 27, 2022, 11:44:08 pm
    April 27, 2022, 11:44:08 pm
    2016 XR (in faster red)

    A few questions.

    For starters please be easy on the techy talk I'm defective in this department. I even spell 'tyres' tires.

    All I want to do is turn off the service light reminder and reset it. The only local dealer wants $100 and I don't want to give it to him/her/they.

    Moving on, I found the Motoscan app for my android, the OBD link thingy on Amazon but am not sure what cable to get.

    Being not too smart with technology is this something I can do without causing a major **** up to my bike??

    Big thanks in advance  :028:

  • Offline Watshot   gb

    • XR Pro  ‐    160
    • ***
      #1

    Offline Watshot

    • XR Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 160
    • Bike: XR Sp SE
    • Country: gb
    Re: Just read up on Motoscan stuff and.....
    Reply #1 on: April 28, 2022, 12:32:02 am
    April 28, 2022, 12:32:02 am
    You need the BMW round 10 pin to OBD 2 adapter for a 2016 bike. Something like this:

    https://www.bmdiag.co.uk/bmw-motorcycle-10-pin-to-obd2-adapter-cable

    You will be able to find it cheaper, and in your own U.S market place of course. They changed to the industry standard OBD 2 plug later on the gen 1 bikes, but unfortunately if you have an early model you need to buy the cable too.

    You shouldn't have any issues, it's a proven system (Motoscan MX/LX etc.) and should pay for itself after a couple of uses, especially at your dealer quoted prices.  :028:
    Last Edit: April 28, 2022, 12:35:26 am by Watshot

  • Offline Ant   us

    • XR Pro  ‐    174
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline Ant

    • XR Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 174
    • Bike: S1000XR
    • Country: us
    Re: Just read up on Motoscan stuff and.....
    Reply #2 on: April 28, 2022, 01:17:13 am
    April 28, 2022, 01:17:13 am
    *Originally Posted by Watshot [+]
    You need the BMW round 10 pin to OBD 2 adapter for a 2016 bike. Something like this:

    https://www.bmdiag.co.uk/bmw-motorcycle-10-pin-to-obd2-adapter-cable

    You will be able to find it cheaper, and in your own U.S market place of course. They changed to the industry standard OBD 2 plug later on the gen 1 bikes, but unfortunately if you have an early model you need to buy the cable too.

    You shouldn't have any issues, it's a proven system (Motoscan MX/LX etc.) and should pay for itself after a couple of uses, especially at your dealer quoted prices.  :028:

    Perfect, thank you!! $16 on Amazon over here for the cable. https://www.amazon.com/AntiBreak-Motor-Diagnostic-Adapter-Motorcycles/dp/B07BH3JQZK

    This is now making sense: The cable plugs into the gizmo under the seat, the OBD plugs into the other end of the cable, the Motoscan app on my phone reads the OBD via wifi (something like that) and I can then turn off the service light and reset it.

    Am I on track?

  • Offline smithy   au

    • XR God  ‐    2206
    • *****
      #3

    Offline smithy

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 2206
    • Bike: 2017 S1000XR
    • Town: Brisvegas.
    • Country: au
    Re: Just read up on Motoscan stuff and.....
    Reply #3 on: April 28, 2022, 04:32:08 am
    April 28, 2022, 04:32:08 am
    *Originally Posted by Ant [+]
    Perfect, thank you!! $16 on Amazon over here for the cable. https://www.amazon.com/AntiBreak-Motor-Diagnostic-Adapter-Motorcycles/dp/B07BH3JQZK

    This is now making sense: The cable plugs into the gizmo under the seat, the OBD plugs into the other end of the cable, the Motoscan app on my phone reads the OBD via wifi (something like that) and I can then turn off the service light and reset it.

    Am I on track?

    Yep....that's exactly how it works. Very good Sir...you're not as "defective" as you think..! The service light reset is done by date or mileage, whichever comes first. Just tell it to do which you would like. I usually give mine 12 months and/or 10,000km. Some people just set it to eons into the future and a gazzilion miles and the light will never come on.

    Wait till you get to my age....defective is a step up in the world for me. :034:

    Smithy.
    When I die, I want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandfather....not screaming like the passengers in his car..!

  • Offline Ant   us

    • XR Pro  ‐    174
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #4

    Offline Ant

    • XR Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 174
    • Bike: S1000XR
    • Country: us
    Re: Just read up on Motoscan stuff and.....
    Reply #4 on: April 28, 2022, 04:49:21 am
    April 28, 2022, 04:49:21 am
    *Originally Posted by smithy [+]
    Yep....that's exactly how it works. Very good Sir...you're not as "defective" as you think..! The service light reset is done by date or mileage, whichever comes first. Just tell it to do which you would like. I usually give mine 12 months and/or 10,000km. Some people just set it to eons into the future and a gazzilion miles and the light will never come on.

    Wait till you get to my age....defective is a step up in the world for me. :034:

    Smithy.

    I’m feeling a bit more grown up now, not a lot but still :001:

    Watched a few vids and where you can change the date or miles I’ve noticed it always shows 10,000. Is that a default or just go by the date and leave the mileage alone? Hope that made sense


  • Offline smithy   au

    • XR God  ‐    2206
    • *****
      #5

    Offline smithy

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 2206
    • Bike: 2017 S1000XR
    • Town: Brisvegas.
    • Country: au
    Re: Just read up on Motoscan stuff and.....
    Reply #5 on: April 28, 2022, 04:56:58 am
    April 28, 2022, 04:56:58 am
    *Originally Posted by Ant [+]
    I’m feeling a bit more grown up now, not a lot but still :001:

    Watched a few vids and where you can change the date or miles I’ve noticed it always shows 10,000. Is that a default or just go by the date and leave the mileage alone? Hope that made sense

    Yeah, default is 10,000km, but you can set it to whatever you like, some chose to service their bikes at 5,000km or 6 months, it's optional. Some people don't ride during the winter whilst their bike is in storage and the light will come on even though the bike hasn't done any mileage during that time, then it becomes date dependant....It's your bike so you can do whith it as you please.

    Smithy.
    Last Edit: April 28, 2022, 05:00:19 am by smithy
    When I die, I want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandfather....not screaming like the passengers in his car..!

  • Offline mjojom   gb

    • XR Member  ‐    44
    • **
      #6

    Offline mjojom

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Posts: 44
    • Bike: s1000xr
    • Country: gb
    Re: Just read up on Motoscan stuff and.....
    Reply #6 on: April 28, 2022, 01:27:53 pm
    April 28, 2022, 01:27:53 pm
    one thing to remember with motoscan, you have to add your mileage plus the service mileage for reminder to work.

    for example if your bike is on 25k miles, and you want a reminder in another 6, it will be set as a reminder at 31k miles.  if you just set it at 6k, it won't work.

    joe


  • Offline Ant   us

    • XR Pro  ‐    174
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #7

    Offline Ant

    • XR Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 174
    • Bike: S1000XR
    • Country: us
    Re: Just read up on Motoscan stuff and.....
    Reply #7 on: April 28, 2022, 06:36:07 pm
    April 28, 2022, 06:36:07 pm
    *Originally Posted by mjojom [+]
    one thing to remember with motoscan, you have to add your mileage plus the service mileage for reminder to work.

    for example if your bike is on 25k miles, and you want a reminder in another 6, it will be set as a reminder at 31k miles.  if you just set it at 6k, it won't work.

    joe

    Thank you for that!!!

    Just so I understand I can set it by mileage or by date? Or do I need to do both and which ever comes first is what will trigger the service reminder?

    Just ordered the OBD and cable and will download the app today.
    Last Edit: April 28, 2022, 09:54:37 pm by Ant

  • Offline Ant   us

    • XR Pro  ‐    174
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #8

    Offline Ant

    • XR Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 174
    • Bike: S1000XR
    • Country: us
    Re: Just read up on Motoscan stuff and.....
    Reply #8 on: April 28, 2022, 10:12:45 pm
    April 28, 2022, 10:12:45 pm
    *Originally Posted by smithy [+]
    Yep....that's exactly how it works. Very good Sir...you're not as "defective" as you think..! The service light reset is done by date or mileage, whichever comes first. Just tell it to do which you would like. I usually give mine 12 months and/or 10,000km. Some people just set it to eons into the future and a gazzilion miles and the light will never come on.

    Wait till you get to my age....defective is a step up in the world for me. :034:

    Smithy.

    Just downloaded the app and it has two choices for the XR, one is K49 and the other is K69. For my 2016 would you know which one to use or is there a place I can go look it up?

    Cable and ODB ordered so hopefully this weekend I can reset that damn thing!

  • Online Antares   gb

    • XR God  ‐    1073
    • *****
      #9

    Online Antares

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 1073
    • Bike: 2015 XR Sport SE
    • Town: Staines/Kirklees
    • Country: gb
    Re: Just read up on Motoscan stuff and.....
    Reply #9 on: April 28, 2022, 10:26:59 pm
    April 28, 2022, 10:26:59 pm
    *Originally Posted by Ant [+]
    Just downloaded the app and it has two choices for the XR, one is K49 and the other is K69. For my 2016 would you know which one to use or is there a place I can go look it up?

    Cable and ODB ordered so hopefully this weekend I can reset that damn thing!

    *Originally Posted by Ant [+]
    Thank you for that!!!

    Just so I understand I can set it by mileage or by date? Or do I need to do both and which ever comes first is what will trigger the service reminder?

    Just ordered the OBD and cable and will download the app today.

    It's whichever comes first and 1st gen XRs are K49 2nd gen is K69

     



    dysfunctional