Author QS - having to blip the throttle to shift up/down  (Read 5847 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline khernik   th

    • XR Member  ‐    21
    • **
    • Topic Author

    Offline khernik

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 21
    • Bike: S1000XR
    • Town: Bangkok
    • Country: th
    QS - having to blip the throttle to shift up/down
    on: October 11, 2022, 07:42:08 am
    October 11, 2022, 07:42:08 am
    Hey, so I somehow never had a QS before and didn't think much about it, but since the last 3k km I was always shifting gears without the clutch as recommended by the dealer. The lever though is rock solid when I have the throttle opened, I have to blip it quickly first in order to shift up or down. It will only shift without the blip if it's in very low RPM, below ~3000. Is that normal? I'll go check it today probably, but it made me thinking if the gearbox could have got damaged if the quickshifter wasn't working as it should.

  • Online Antares   gb

    • XR God  ‐    1293
    • *****
      #1

    Online Antares

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 1293
    • Bike: 2015 XR Sport SE
    • Town: Staines/Kirklees
    • Country: gb
    Re: QS - having to blip the throttle to shift up/down
    Reply #1 on: October 11, 2022, 08:44:40 am
    October 11, 2022, 08:44:40 am
    For up shifts you need to be constantly accelerating even if only by a little amount, for downshifts you need the throttle fully closed. There is some leeway both ways but give that a try and see what you come back with.
    Last Edit: October 11, 2022, 08:45:19 am by Antares

  • Offline khernik   th

    • XR Member  ‐    21
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline khernik

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 21
    • Bike: S1000XR
    • Town: Bangkok
    • Country: th
    Re: QS - having to blip the throttle to shift up/down
    Reply #2 on: October 11, 2022, 08:56:19 am
    October 11, 2022, 08:56:19 am
    Thanks a lot, just tried that now to double check but the lever is solid even when accelerating - I did enough kilometers to figure it out if it would be working :D Downshifts seem fine then, it does work smoothly when I close the throttle. But for upshifts, it's only smooth when I close the throttle as well. If I don't, I can only shift at very low RPM :(

  • Online Antares   gb

    • XR God  ‐    1293
    • *****
      #3

    Online Antares

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 1293
    • Bike: 2015 XR Sport SE
    • Town: Staines/Kirklees
    • Country: gb
    Re: QS - having to blip the throttle to shift up/down
    Reply #3 on: October 11, 2022, 09:00:32 am
    October 11, 2022, 09:00:32 am
    *Originally Posted by khernik [+]
    Thanks a lot, just tried that now to double check but the lever is solid even when accelerating - I did enough kilometers to figure it out if it would be working :D Downshifts seem fine then, it does work smoothly when I close the throttle. But for upshifts, it's only smooth when I close the throttle as well. If I don't, I can only shift at very low RPM :(

    Might be some sort of contact issue with the shift rod then, not sensing upshifts and cutting ignition for you, might be a good idea to see if there is any codes stored

  • Offline khernik   th

    • XR Member  ‐    21
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #4

    Offline khernik

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 21
    • Bike: S1000XR
    • Town: Bangkok
    • Country: th
    Re: QS - having to blip the throttle to shift up/down
    Reply #4 on: October 13, 2022, 05:58:39 pm
    October 13, 2022, 05:58:39 pm
    Possibly, I gave it actually to the mechanic to check it and also to have a look for any clutch wear because of that, it just takes them long time  :164:

    Is there any way to say if the QS works on down shifts actually? It was quite smooth when I was closing the throttle and shifting down each time, no idea if the shifts were with QS or without  :003:

  • Online wessie   gb

    • XR Master  ‐    636
    • ****
      #5

    Online wessie

    • XR Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 636
    • Bike: 2016 XR SE Sport
    • Town: Cheltenham
    • Country: gb
    Re: QS - having to blip the throttle to shift up/down
    Reply #5 on: October 13, 2022, 06:15:39 pm
    October 13, 2022, 06:15:39 pm
    the most common cause of problems is misaligned switches on the clutch lever which confuses the ECU as it gets the wrong message and thinks you want to use the clutch. This is more common for those with aftermarket levers fitted. I believe there are 2 switches, one as the in gear interlock for starting and one for the quicksifter.

  • Online Antares   gb

    • XR God  ‐    1293
    • *****
      #6

    Online Antares

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 1293
    • Bike: 2015 XR Sport SE
    • Town: Staines/Kirklees
    • Country: gb
    Re: QS - having to blip the throttle to shift up/down
    Reply #6 on: October 13, 2022, 06:35:34 pm
    October 13, 2022, 06:35:34 pm
    *Originally Posted by khernik [+]
    Possibly, I gave it actually to the mechanic to check it and also to have a look for any clutch wear because of that, it just takes them long time  :164:

    Is there any way to say if the QS works on down shifts actually? It was quite smooth when I was closing the throttle and shifting down each time, no idea if the shifts were with QS or without  :003:

    Definitely nothing to do with the clutch, the clutch doesn't even move on shifts with the QS. Easy way to check downshifts is put the bike in Dynamic, roll off the gas, cruise a little bit on engine braking then shift down, make sure you shift well below 6000 rpm, if you hear crackles it's working if not you're just jamming it down the next gear.

    What wessie said about the clutch lever switches is worth looking at though, but it would affect shifts both ways if that were the case. I think it's more likely something is up inside the shifter linkage if it only works 1 way.

  • Offline khernik   th

    • XR Member  ‐    21
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #7

    Offline khernik

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 21
    • Bike: S1000XR
    • Town: Bangkok
    • Country: th
    Re: QS - having to blip the throttle to shift up/down
    Reply #7 on: October 14, 2022, 09:45:40 am
    October 14, 2022, 09:45:40 am
    Apparently the QS is just broken, they quoted me 400 pounds for a second hand one :/

  • Online Antares   gb

    • XR God  ‐    1293
    • *****
      #8

    Online Antares

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 1293
    • Bike: 2015 XR Sport SE
    • Town: Staines/Kirklees
    • Country: gb
    Re: QS - having to blip the throttle to shift up/down
    Reply #8 on: October 14, 2022, 09:50:11 am
    October 14, 2022, 09:50:11 am
    *Originally Posted by khernik [+]
    Apparently the QS is just broken, they quoted me 400 pounds for a second hand one :/

    I'd give them a HUGE miss on that, just get one off ebay and fit it yourself, it's like 3 bolt's + an easily accessible plug. And then you can take apart the old one and see whats up, I'm betting it's just some corrosion from a failed seal somewhere.

  • Offline khernik   th

    • XR Member  ‐    21
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #9

    Offline khernik

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 21
    • Bike: S1000XR
    • Town: Bangkok
    • Country: th
    Re: QS - having to blip the throttle to shift up/down
    Reply #9 on: October 14, 2022, 10:06:39 am
    October 14, 2022, 10:06:39 am
    Thanks a lot, I'll find one. Do you think I need to check the gearbox or clutch for any wear? I wasn't using clutch for any down/up shifts since 3000 miles, and with a broken QS.