Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Socket for heated clothing  (Read 2268 times)

Online bazzer

• XR Master
  • Town: Waterlooville
Socket for heated clothing
« on: July 21, 2016, 01:05:55 PM »
Hi All

I am a newbie to heated clothing. Going to install a socket (via PDM-60) where do people tend to mount the sockets ?

Any pictures or ideas welcome.

Thanks

Offline philbuck

• XR Pro
  • Bike: S1000XR Sport SE
  • Town: Cheshire
Re: Socket for heated clothing
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2016, 01:52:40 PM »
I've literally just done the same thing, albeit not for heated clothing.
I've seen a guy put one on the LHS, adjacent to the ABS unit. It would seem the perfect location for heated clothing I suspect, but he said it was a very, very tight fit. I looked there and my socket certainly wouldn't have fit. (It's about where the green 30A fuse is).
So I put my socket in a similar position on the RHS, to the factory Hella one on the left.

Online bazzer

• XR Master
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2016, 01:55:22 PM »
Thanks Phil

Do you have any pictures by any chance ?

Cheers

Offline norskman

• XR Member
  • Bike: BMW S1000XR Red
  • Town: London, UK
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2016, 01:56:04 PM »
There is a BMW kit for this.

BMW offer it as an option when buying a new bike. I got BMW to fit one for me when I got my bike.
There is definite place for it on the Left hand side of the bike. The socket is bolted to the rear frame strut.

I would ask BMW what they do, you may be reinventing the wheel here - the socket is not that much from BMW anyway.

There was no need for a PDM60 for that. It is designed to be used for heated clothing. So should be able to carry the current. Not sure how much current it will do though. Probably there is a connector in the loom for this second socket. Although I can't see it. Maybe someone else knows more about it.

Picture to follow.

The PDM60 is a great bit of kit. I have one on my K1600

Online bazzer