Author Do I need the dongle?  (Read 1941 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline 1Jumper10   us

    • XR Member  ‐    39
    • **
    • Topic Author

    Offline 1Jumper10

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 39
    • Bike: 2018 S1000XR
    • Town: Detroit
    • Country: us
    Do I need the dongle?
    on: July 17, 2023, 10:45:37 pm
    July 17, 2023, 10:45:37 pm
    My bike is  a Gen 1, 2018.  The previous owner provided me with the red dongle said it was for "slicks" mode and it removes all the nannies.  My bike has Dynamic Pro mode unlocked already.  Do I not have full power unless I install the dongle? And where under the seat does it plug in? 

  • Online smithy   au

    • XR God  ‐    2655
    • *****
      #1

    Online smithy

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 2655
    • Bike: 2017 S1000XR
    • Town: Brisvegas.
    • Country: au
    Re: Do I need the dongle?
    Reply #1 on: July 18, 2023, 05:44:00 am
    July 18, 2023, 05:44:00 am
    *Originally Posted by 1Jumper10 [+]
    My bike is  a Gen 1, 2018.  The previous owner provided me with the red dongle said it was for "slicks" mode and it removes all the nannies.  My bike has Dynamic Pro mode unlocked already.  Do I not have full power unless I install the dongle? And where under the seat does it plug in?

    If you have "Dynamic Pro" enabled already, you must already have the dongle, (or a paper clip), fitted. Have a look under the seat, left side towards the front tucked down next to the ABS module. It's a common "misnomer" that Dynamic pro enables more power and disables the nannys, it has the same power available as Road and normal Dynamic modes, just the throttle mapping and nanny intrustion is different...and Dynamic pro doesn't remove all the nannys....it just has less intrusion than Dynamic and Road modes and will allow wheelies. You can disable ABS and Traction Control in any mode if you so wish. All this information is in the owners manual...but very few people actually read it.

    Smithy.
    When I die, I want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandfather....not screaming like the passengers in his car..!

  • Offline Antares   gb

    • XR God  ‐    2020
    • *****
      #2

    Offline Antares

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 2020
    • Bike: 2015 XR Sport SE
    • Town: Staines/Kirklees
    • Country: gb
    Re: Do I need the dongle?
    Reply #2 on: July 18, 2023, 09:58:31 am
    July 18, 2023, 09:58:31 am
    *Originally Posted by smithy [+]
    If you have "Dynamic Pro" enabled already, you must already have the dongle, (or a paper clip), fitted. Have a look under the seat, left side towards the front tucked down next to the ABS module. It's a common "misnomer" that Dynamic pro enables more power and disables the nannys, it has the same power available as Road and normal Dynamic modes, just the throttle mapping and nanny intrustion is different...and Dynamic pro doesn't remove all the nannys....it just has less intrusion than Dynamic and Road modes and will allow wheelies. You can disable ABS and Traction Control in any mode if you so wish. All this information is in the owners manual...but very few people actually read it.

    Smithy.

    This.

    D Pro and Dynamic are actually same throttle/torque mapping.

    D Pro allows wheelies, allows big stoppies (less rear wheel lift control), less cornering ABS support, Less ABS overall

    Thats mostly it.

  • Offline 1Jumper10   us

    • XR Member  ‐    39
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #3

    Offline 1Jumper10

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 39
    • Bike: 2018 S1000XR
    • Town: Detroit
    • Country: us
    Re: Do I need the dongle?
    Reply #3 on: July 18, 2023, 10:35:16 am
    July 18, 2023, 10:35:16 am
    I've read most of the manual when I first got it.  Havent taken it out since except to remove the front axle.  I'll have to look at it more closely.  Is it possible to dial in different levels of rider control nannies, i.e; ABS, traction control? Or is it just pick your level based on the rider mode you select? 

  • Offline Antares   gb

    • XR God  ‐    2020
    • *****
      #4

    Offline Antares

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 2020
    • Bike: 2015 XR Sport SE
    • Town: Staines/Kirklees
    • Country: gb
    Re: Do I need the dongle?
    Reply #4 on: July 18, 2023, 11:04:13 am
    July 18, 2023, 11:04:13 am
    *Originally Posted by 1Jumper10 [+]
    I've read most of the manual when I first got it.  Havent taken it out since except to remove the front axle.  I'll have to look at it more closely.  Is it possible to dial in different levels of rider control nannies, i.e; ABS, traction control? Or is it just pick your level based on the rider mode you select?

    It's all based on the mode but imo the BMW engineers really tuned them right, I never felt the need to fiddle. Dynamic for general dry day sporty riding, D Pro for when I lost the plot, Road for when I can't be arsed with the popping and just getting to and from work, Rain for well... rain...

    The power/TC modes work around each other with remarkable fluidity, and the ABS levels going down in tandem is also welcome, as normally they don't get affected on a lot of other bikes with different rider modes.

  • Offline af1-windy   gb

    • XR Master  ‐    701
    • ****
      #5

    Offline af1-windy

    • XR Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 701
    • Bike: s1000xr
    • Town: Leeds
    • Country: gb
    Re: Do I need the dongle?
    Reply #5 on: July 18, 2023, 11:27:55 am
    July 18, 2023, 11:27:55 am
    Dynamic.. all the time, any mood, any weather.. traction control etc.. err, why did god give us a right wrist.  :164:  :001:

     :821: windy
    "When I’m riding my motorcycle, I’m glad to be alive. When I stop riding my motorcycle, I’m glad to be alive" Neil Peart.

  • Offline 1Jumper10   us

    • XR Member  ‐    39
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #6

    Offline 1Jumper10

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 39
    • Bike: 2018 S1000XR
    • Town: Detroit
    • Country: us
    Re: Do I need the dongle?
    Reply #6 on: July 19, 2023, 02:34:56 am
    July 19, 2023, 02:34:56 am
    I installed the dongle tonight.  There definitely wasnt one already installed.  And I read through the part of the manual that gives a detailed explanation of the different rider modes.  It looks like Dynamic mode will be the most fun with a little safety margin from the nannies; low wheelies, a little drifting allowed, maximum torque available.   Versus Dynamic Pro which appears to warn that flipping over backwards from a wheelie is possible  :114:  Dynamic Pro also made one slightly different claim from the others aside from the obvious intervention levels, if I'm remembering correctly.  I'm too lazy to go get the manual from under the bike seat and verify this.  But where Road and Dynamic mode descriptions both said the max torques was available, Dynamic Pro said that maximum acceleration was available.  Probably due to ATC being almost non-existant in Dynamic Pro.   

    THis is really all just curiosity for me.  I'll never ride this bike at its limits.  I'd just like to know its possible if I had the stones to try it.    :007:

  • Online smithy   au

    • XR God  ‐    2655
    • *****
      #7

    Online smithy

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 2655
    • Bike: 2017 S1000XR
    • Town: Brisvegas.
    • Country: au
    Re: Do I need the dongle?
    Reply #7 on: July 19, 2023, 06:54:00 am
    July 19, 2023, 06:54:00 am
    *Originally Posted by 1Jumper10 [+]
    I installed the dongle tonight.  There definitely wasnt one already installed.  And I read through the part of the manual that gives a detailed explanation of the different rider modes.  It looks like Dynamic mode will be the most fun with a little safety margin from the nannies; low wheelies, a little drifting allowed, maximum torque available.   Versus Dynamic Pro which appears to warn that flipping over backwards from a wheelie is possible  :114:  Dynamic Pro also made one slightly different claim from the others aside from the obvious intervention levels, if I'm remembering correctly.  I'm too lazy to go get the manual from under the bike seat and verify this.  But where Road and Dynamic mode descriptions both said the max torques was available, Dynamic Pro said that maximum acceleration was available.  Probably due to ATC being almost non-existant in Dynamic Pro.   

    THis is really all just curiosity for me.  I'll never ride this bike at its limits.  I'd just like to know its possible if I had the stones to try it.    :007:

    If it didn't have the dongle already fitted, how was Dynamic pro mode available..??

    Smithy.

    When I die, I want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandfather....not screaming like the passengers in his car..!

  • Offline 1Jumper10   us

    • XR Member  ‐    39
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #8

    Offline 1Jumper10

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 39
    • Bike: 2018 S1000XR
    • Town: Detroit
    • Country: us
    Re: Do I need the dongle?
    Reply #8 on: July 19, 2023, 10:32:33 am
    July 19, 2023, 10:32:33 am
    Good question.  But apparently I'm not the only one in this situation.  I've seen a few other mentions on this forum of people who have dynamic pro enabled with no dongle.  In fact, that kind of led to my original question: If I already have Dynamic Pro enabled, what does the dongle unlock?

  • Offline 1Jumper10   us

    • XR Member  ‐    39
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #9

    Offline 1Jumper10

    • XR Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 39
    • Bike: 2018 S1000XR
    • Town: Detroit
    • Country: us
    Re: Do I need the dongle?
    Reply #9 on: July 19, 2023, 08:59:06 pm
    July 19, 2023, 08:59:06 pm
    First real ride after installing the dongle:  It definitely does something.  In Dynamic mode (not Dynamic pro) it now pops on decel.  Took it to just shy of redline in top gear and hit 156mph.  I didnt test any of the nannies.  The decel pops only occurred before in Dynamic pro mode.  It was the most noticeable difference between the rider modes when all I've done is pretty tame road riding. If its adjusting fueling as evidenced by the decel pops it must be doing other stuff too.