Author Menu switch and suspension switch stopped working  (Read 940 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Pastafarian   us

    • XR Junior  ‐    9
    • *
    • Topic Author

    Offline Pastafarian

    • XR Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 9
    • Bike: 2020 S 1000 XR
    • Town: Denver
    • Country: us
    Menu switch and suspension switch stopped working
    on: September 10, 2023, 01:57:47 am
    September 10, 2023, 01:57:47 am
    I’m currently in Alberta Canada on a 12 day ride out of Denver on my 2020 S 1000 XR.  The bike has run flawlessly, but yesterday I noticed that I could not switch the suspension between dynamic and road. My ECU is set up with dynamic pro, but I’ve also needed to switch to rain mode a couple of times. I can no longer use the menu button to move from the standard screen to the sport mode to my vehicle mode, nothing. I am not going to be near a BMW motorcycle dealership that I know of for a very long time. I can’t even get into the settings menu to try to reset everything. Anyone else had this problem anyone else have any ideas what I might do?   I’ve never run a bike, this sophisticated before, and I am even anxious to consider the idea of disconnecting the battery, and then reconnecting it, in fear that nothing will work again. Is that a possibility? Thanks in advance for your help.

  • Offline RyanGTXR   gb

    • XR Master  ‐    509
    • ****
      #1

    Offline RyanGTXR

    • XR Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 509
    • Bike: KTM 1290 GT
    • Town: Notts
    • Country: gb
    Re: Menu switch and suspension switch stopped working
    Reply #1 on: September 10, 2023, 08:35:41 am
    September 10, 2023, 08:35:41 am
    Is ANYTHING on the L/H switchgear working? lights/high beam, horn, etc.? If nothing at all working on L/H side I believe it has it's own fuse, one of only a few on the whole bike (Gen1 does anyway, not 100% about Gen2).
    Other thing to look at would be switchgear connector

  • Offline Pastafarian   us

    • XR Junior  ‐    9
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline Pastafarian

    • XR Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 9
    • Bike: 2020 S 1000 XR
    • Town: Denver
    • Country: us
    Re: Menu switch and suspension switch stopped working
    Reply #2 on: September 10, 2023, 02:09:08 pm
    September 10, 2023, 02:09:08 pm
    Horn, high/low beam all work fine, so not the fuse.  Thanks for the suggestions. 

  • Offline RyanGTXR   gb

    • XR Master  ‐    509
    • ****
      #3

    Offline RyanGTXR

    • XR Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 509
    • Bike: KTM 1290 GT
    • Town: Notts
    • Country: gb
    Re: Menu switch and suspension switch stopped working
    Reply #3 on: September 10, 2023, 03:59:18 pm
    September 10, 2023, 03:59:18 pm
    You say you've ridden through rain a few times, poss water ingress into the housing. A few basic tools will have it apart and bit of a clean etc . . . . .

  • Offline JTL   gb

    • XR Pro  ‐    401
    • ***
      #4

    Offline JTL

    • XR Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 401
    • Bike: S1000XR Sport SE
    • Town: England
    • Country: gb
    Re: Menu switch and suspension switch stopped working
    Reply #4 on: September 10, 2023, 04:34:53 pm
    September 10, 2023, 04:34:53 pm
    I would advise checking the manual before dismantling the switch gear.  I'm sure my Gen 1 manual says don't!!

    Yes it does:
    Last Edit: September 10, 2023, 04:48:26 pm by JTL

  • Offline Antares   gb

    • XR God  ‐    2020
    • *****
      #5

    Offline Antares

    • XR God
    • *****
    • Posts: 2020
    • Bike: 2015 XR Sport SE
    • Town: Staines/Kirklees
    • Country: gb
    Re: Menu switch and suspension switch stopped working
    Reply #5 on: September 11, 2023, 10:59:56 am
    September 11, 2023, 10:59:56 am
    *Originally Posted by JTL [+]
    I would advise checking the manual before dismantling the switch gear.  I'm sure my Gen 1 manual says don't!!

    Yes it does:


    I had to mine, due to stuck CC switch, it's not that hard.

    This is whats below the buttons, which are all captive



     



    dysfunctional